Abel Prize

The Abel Prize is an annual prize awarded in memory of Niels Henrik Abel by the Niels Henrik Abel Memorial Fund of Norway to recognize a person’s “outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics.” A winner of the prize is called an Abel Laureate. A board of five mathematicians is chosen by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters to nominate mathematicians for the prize and make a recommendation to the Academy, which then selects the winner. Besides the prestige, the prize includes a monetary award of 750000 euros.

Abel Laureates

  • Jean-Pierre Serre “for playing a key role in shaping the modern form of many parts of mathematics, including topology, algebraic geometryMathworldPlanetmathPlanetmath and number theoryMathworldPlanetmath.”

  • Jacques Tits and John Griggs Thompson for contributions to the theory of groups.

  • Mikhail Leonidovich Gromov “for his revolutionary contributions to geometry.”

0.1 External links

http://www.abelprisen.no/en/Official website (English version)

Title Abel Prize
Canonical name AbelPrize
Date of creation 2013-03-22 18:55:16
Last modified on 2013-03-22 18:55:16
Owner PrimeFan (13766)
Last modified by PrimeFan (13766)
Numerical id 5
Author PrimeFan (13766)
Entry type Definition
Classification msc 01A65
Classification msc 01A61
Defines Abel Laureate