Crafoord Prize

A prize awarded every year to one or two (sometimes three), scientists in certain fields not covered by the Nobel Prize (specifically, mathematics, biology and astronomy) at a congress of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. The cash value of the award in 2006 was US$500,000.

Holger Crafoord, the inventor of the artificial kidney, founded the award in his testament. The first recipients received the award in 1982. Since then the award has been periodic.

Title Crafoord Prize
Canonical name CrafoordPrize
Date of creation 2013-03-22 16:37:39
Last modified on 2013-03-22 16:37:39
Owner PrimeFan (13766)
Last modified by PrimeFan (13766)
Numerical id 7
Author PrimeFan (13766)
Entry type Definition
Classification msc 01A60
Classification msc 01A61
Classification msc 01A65
Related topic StateOnTheTetrahedron
Related topic IHESOnTheFusionOfMathematicsAndTheoreticalPhysics2
Related topic NoncommutativeGeometry