list of Abel Laureates

2003: Jean-Pierre Serre, “for playing a key role in shaping the modern form of many parts of mathematics, including topology, algebraic geometryMathworldPlanetmathPlanetmath and number theoryMathworldPlanetmath.”

2004: Sir Michael Francis Atiyah and Isadore M. Singer, “for their discovery and proof of the index theorem, bringing together topology, geometry and analysis, and their outstanding role in building new bridges between mathematics and theoretical physics.”

2005: Peter D. Lax, “for his groundbreaking contributions to the theory and application of partial differential equationsMathworldPlanetmath and to the computation of their solutions.”

2006: Lennart Carleson, “for his profound and seminal contributions to harmonic analysis and the theory of smooth dynamical systemsMathworldPlanetmathPlanetmath.”

2007: Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan, “for his fundamental contributions to probability theory and in particular for creating a unified theory of large deviations.”

2008: Jacques Tits and John Griggs Thompson “for their profound achievements in algebra and in particular for shaping modern group theory.”

2009: Mikhail Leonidovich Gromov, “for his revolutionary contributions to geometry.”

Title list of Abel Laureates
Canonical name ListOfAbelLaureates
Date of creation 2013-03-22 18:56:30
Last modified on 2013-03-22 18:56:30
Owner PrimeFan (13766)
Last modified by PrimeFan (13766)
Numerical id 6
Author PrimeFan (13766)
Entry type Data Structure
Classification msc 01A61
Classification msc 01A65